Skip to content

Imagination

May 12, 2017

When I was a child, I remember vividly, being able to buy transfers from pretty much any cornery type shop. These were simple, and fantastic. You could get so many themes; Jungle, Wild West,’ Space, Fantasy, Sea. I would put them on the back of rolls of wallpaper and create my own stories. I would put them on windows, and randomly, I remember putting them on some of my Star Wars vehicles. I know, because just recently I came across my old AT-AT, and it still had some transfers on it. Specifically a ladybird and part of an eagle! If you were to give a set of transfers to a child today, they would doubtlessly be very unimpressed, but to me, it was great, a quick way to create a world, a story, a narrative. 
I’ve always loved making-up stories and characters. As I sit here, I recall my first brush with drama. I was very young, and I was in a production of the Nutcracker. I only played a soldier, but I loved it. After this, at around the age of 8 or 9, I played Scrooge in a school play, and loved it. 
I remember with fondness, a teacher called Mr Morgan. I think he tought Geography at John Aird. We read, and acted out a play set in Roman Saint Albans. The play wasn’t all that good, but I loved it. Seeds are sewn early. Drama at school, my dad telling me stories, my mum taking me to the library. Creativity is vital, a oasis in our modern lives. I’m now writing books, and writing and directing plays, not because I’m talented or gifted, but because of some cheap transfers, and the fact that I’ve always been encouraged to use my imagination. 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

