Skip to content

The colour of bad

May 1, 2013

Let me take you on a brief journey through time. Let me take you to the early and mid-eighties, to the time when I was a child. To the time when I received, very gratefully, between 50p and £2 a week pocket money. Money that I would either save – putting it in a piggy bank until I had enough for a Star Wars figure, or spend in Easterns, my local, most wonderful toy shop. What would I buy? Typically one of four things. Either marbles to play with and swap, plastic green soldiers, cowboys and Indians on green metal plinths made by Britains, or plastic knights on said plinths. Why the preamble? Bare with me, I promise it’s relevant.

On getting home and adding my new knights to my collection I would create mighty battles. I would employ cushions for geographical features and pitch one against the other in single combat or raise whole armies to charge, clattering against the other in a mass of chaotic clamour. Sometimes I would construct Lego buildings for my brave warriors, or even take them into the garden to the real field of war and trauma.

One thing was always consistent in my games, the black knights were always bad and the silver knights were always good.

Fast forward to last year when I witnessed my daughter (step) playing with similar knights. She enthusiastically got stuck in, her mounted men moving at dazzling speeds to crash against their foes, her mace-wielding warriors fearlessly and effortlessly toppling whole city walls and ramparts!

When I asked her which were the goodies and which were the baddies she said, “The black ones are good, the silver are bad.” When I pressed her further she said, “Well, they just are – the black are good, the silver are bad.” This little exchanged interested me enough to want to explore the relationship between moral righteousness and colour a little further.

Let me simply outline my ideas so you can make your own mind as to your conclusion.

In 16th century England only the rich wore black garments. Black was a very expensive colour and the amount of dye to successfully make cloth properly black was prohibitive to most people. Beige, taupe, than and other slightly non-descript shades of brown and beige were far more affordable. So, it can be hypothesised that the rich, in a time where the gap between peasant and lord were so vast, may have been disliked and distrusted. Likewise, during the same time frame, the Puritans wore black – figures to fear. So, it is reasonable to suggest that people who ware black were either rich and/or in positions of power and authority.

Let’s go back fleetingly to the 14th century and consider Edward of Woodstockk, Prince of Wales – better known as the Black Prince. The words “Black Prince” conjure up all sorts of images. To the uninitiated he sounds like a figure of fear, a scheming assassin, a mighty warrior with a dark, evil heart. But he was an exceptional leader and warrior and certainly knew how to beat the French. He wore black armour, or at least a black cloak, and cut a dashing figure on the battlefield. So, culturally it seems that in the 14th century, black didn’t seem to have the same negative connotations.

Now, for reasons of taste and decency I shall not mention the obvious, the racist over tones the colour black seems to imbue. Of course, one could put forward a strong argument for the Zulu wars, when black, or at least dark skin was really feared. And of course during the times of slavery when people were taught to fear men of black skin, in order that a runaway slave would be instantly recognised and caught or killed.

So, so far we have black clothes and black skin. What about the popular Western movies of the 50s and 60s. How come it always seems that the outlaw, the renegade, the baddy always has a black cowboy hat? By this stage in our culture are we using the colour black purely as a signifier whose roots have been lost?

“He’s wearing black, I know what he is, he’s the baddy!” this level of simplicity allows the reader or watcher to instantly identify, recognise and react to a character, thereby quickly knowing where he belongs within the plot. But does this reliance on black not stem partly from the trauma of history? Nazi storm troopers and officers of the Reich wore black uniforms. In reality, in footage they were depicted thus, making them, the enemy of freedom instantly recognised as “bad.” Maybe this sense of German imperialism has bled into our folk consciousness and made us fear the colour black.

So, why did I, a boy who was born in 1975 have such a strong sense of black and white when it came to knowing who is the good guy and who is the bad guy? I didn’t have baggage from World War II, or Westerns, or Puritans, or Zulus or even slaves. In fact, the best baddies were in Star Wars and they, the storm troopers wore white for crying out loud! So maybe for me it sprang from the iconic, most baddest baddy I was exposed to as a youngster. Darth Vader, Dark Lord of the Sith. A man who strode into shot for the first time, wreathed in smoke and larger than life. He even wore a Saxon style helmet – he was to all intense of purpose a dark knight, a black-clad warrior.

One last thought. Chess the ultimate game of black and white; white always goes first, in essence, white is attacking. Does that make white bad or good the aggressor or the defender? I have no idea!

I am sure if I did some serious research I could come up with some more compelling evidence and ideas, but, when it comes to the six year-olds of today they really don’t have any colour-based baggage, it is simply down to taste. “The blue one is bad, the pink one is good. I know this because pink is my best colour!”

Four final thoughts:

1. As a child, when playing with Lego, Space Lego to be exact. The red Lego astronauts were always the baddies because I thought red was an aggressive colour.
2. When I saw Return Of The Jedi for the first time and noticed that Luke was a Jedi knight and therefore wore black, I was confused because I thought it made him look bad.
3. Ninjas wore black. I thought Ninjas were pretty amazing, I read all those Livingston choose your own adventure books, the ones that started with “Avenger” set on the island of Tranquil Dreams or somewhere like that.
4. My guide dog Oliver is a black Labrador, and I don’t think he means to be evil!

From → Culture, Society

One Comment
  1. Hiya,

    I’m writing to you because I’ve had a look at your blog site and think it’s fantastic.
    I was also hoping you, or someone you may know, might be interested in getting involved in our current campaign here at Diversity Jobs.
    Our site is currently going through a big over-haul and we’re trying hard to get to the bottom of how we can really help people in their search for a fair and inclusive work place. We are here to provide people with support and encouragement, whilst getting their voice heard.
    We are in the process of putting together a whole new section of our site, called the ‘big IDEA’.
    We are actually hoping to find a few people who might be interested in contributing something to our new site. There’s a range of content which you could contribute, – from simply answering a couple of short questions, to writing a long article for our blog or maybe even some creative writing, it’s entirely up to you – as long as we’re getting your opinion, we’re happy.

    So just what is the big I.D.E.A?

    The big I.D.E.A is a central hub for the diversity industry to communicate its services, news, awards, events, best practice, opinions, support, products and training. The site is interactive, encourages debate, conversation and communication to evolve and grow the industry. It’s fresh, relevant, will sometimes be provocative, but more than anything will be involving and engaging.
    With so much information out there on the web relating to Inclusivity, Diversity, Equality and Accessibility it’s become time consuming and hard to traverse the large number of fragmented sites offering information. Many people have told us they found themselves in a mine field of offerings, so we’re pulling together the best of what the industry has to offer in one easy to use interactive site.

    Within a very short time frame DiversityJobs.co.uk has become the UK’s leading diversity focussed careers site and we’ll have millions of people pass through our site in the coming months as well as a large number of corporate and government sector clients wanting the industry to be clear in its intentions and initiatives.

    Please do get in touch if you are interested in getting involved – even just to have a chat, we want to hear from you.

    Kind regards,

    Ella
    http://www.diversityjobs.co.uk
    ella@diversityjobs.co.uk

Leave a Reply

